Artist: Soft Machine
Label: Harvest
Catalog#: SHSP 4044
Format: Vinyl
Country: United Kingdom
Released: 1975-04
A1.a Hazard Profile Part One  
A1.b Part Two (Toccatina)  
A1.c Part Three  
A1.d Part Four  
A1.e Part Five  
A2 Gone Sailing  
B1 Bundles  
B2 Land Of The Bag Snake  
B3 The Man Who Waved At Trains  
B4 Peff  
B5 Four Gongs Two Drums  
B6 The Floating World  

Flute [Alto And Bass] - Ray Warleigh


Bass Guitar - Roy Babbington
Drums, Percussion - John Marshall
Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Twelve-string Guitar - Allan Holdsworth
Engineer - Bernie O'Gorman
Executive Producer - Sean Murphy
Oboe, Piano, Electric Piano, Soprano Saxophone - Karl Jenkins
Organ, Electric Piano, Synthesizer - Mike Ratledge
Painting [Cover] - Reg Cartwright
Producer - Soft Machine
Technician [Tape Op's] - Damian Korner
Technician [Tape Op's] - Doug Bogie
Written-By - Allan Holdsworth
Written-By - John Marshall
Written-By - Karl Jenkins
Written-By - Mike Ratledge


℗ 1975 Mus. Ltd. Soft Machine.
Made in Gt. Britain.

Strawberry Bricks Entry: 
By 1973, Soft Machine was down to one original member, organist Mike Ratledge, and three former Nucleus members, sax and pianist Karl Jenkins, bassist Roy Babbington and drummer John Marshall. The band then switched labels to EMI's Harvest Records, and in an act unprecedented since their very beginnings, forwent with numbering for their next album's title, Bundles. Also, unprecedented since their first single (though perhaps precipitated by an NDR session with Isotope's Gary Boyle in 1973), was the arrival of a guitarist, Allan Holdsworth. Here, Soft Machine come close to reinventing themselves. The opening bars of "Hazard Profile Part One" reveal a modern jazz-rock, with of course, the guitar as the focus. Holdsworth is the main soloist, and certainly he picked up a thing or two from Ollie Halsall since we last heard him in Tempest. The following "Part Two (Toccatina)" goes acoustic, and after a few more brief "Parts," Ratledge lets loose on the synthesizer for "Part Five." The second side's "Bundles" and "Land Of The Bag Snake" further the band's new design; Marshall's drumming in particular shines, as does the mix of electric piano and organ. The Ratledge-penned "The Man Who Waved at Trains" and "Peff" offer some jazz, while Jenkin's closing "The Floating World" indeed floats effortlessly off into a dream. The album was recorded following the Montreux Jazz Festival in July 1974, though released almost a year later on Harvest. Released in June 1976, Softs was musically similar, but would see further change in personnel. Ratledge would depart before the album's completion, ending the last vestige with Softs' original lineup, while Holdsworth had already followed his nomadic spirit to The New Tony Williams Lifetime. His replacement, guitarist John Etheridge, had previously played in Darryl Way's Wolf, followed by a quick stint with Global Trucking Village Company, while saxophonist Alan Wakeman, a cousin of Rick Wakeman, allowed Jenkins full keyboard duties. It would be the last studio album from Soft Machine for nearly five years.
Your rating: None Average: 4 (2 votes)