Dance Of The Lemmings

Artist: Amon Düül II
Label: United Artists Records
Catalog#: UAS-9954
Format: Vinyl
Country: United States
Released: 1971-06
Aa In The Glassgarden 15:51
Ab Pull Down Your Mask  

Vocals - Chris Karrer

Ac Prayer To The Silence  
Ad Telephonecomplex  
B1 Landing In A Ditch 19:33
B2 Dehypnotized Toothpaste  
B3 A Short Stop At The Transylvanian Brain Surgery  

Vocals - Lothar Meid

B4 Race From Here To Your Ears  
B4a Little Tornadoes  

Vocals - Chris Karrer

B4b Overheated Tiara  
B4c The Flyweighted Five  
B5 Riding On A Cloud  

Vocals - Lothar Meid
Vocals [Guest] - Henriette Kroetenschwanz
Vocals [Guest] - Rolf Zacher

B6 Paralized Paradise  

Vocals - John Weinzierl

B7 H.G. Well's Take-Off  

Vocals [Guest] - Henriette Kroetenschwanz
Vocals [Guest] - Rolf Zacher

C The Marilyn Monroe-Memorial-Church (Impr) 18:05
D1 Chewinggum Telegram 2:41
D2 Stumbling Over Melted Moonlight 4:53
D3 Toxicological Whispering 7:45

Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Violin - Chris Karrer
Artwork By, Photography - f.-j. rogner
Artwork By, Photography - f.-u.
Bass - Lothar Meid
Bass, Double Bass - Lothar Meid
Composed By - Chris Karrer
Composed By - Falk-Ulrich Rogner
Composed By - John Weinzierl
Composed By - Lothar Meid
Drums, Percussion - Peter Leopold
Electronics, Engineer - Karl-Heinz Hausmann
Electronics, Organ - Falk-Ulrich Rogner
Engineer [Mix & Remix] - Kalle Hausmann
Guitar - John Weinzierl
Guitar, Piano - John Weinzierl
Guitar, Violin - Chris Karrer
Organ - Falk-Ulrich Rogner
Organ [Guest], Organ [Guest Choir Organ], Piano [Guest] - Jimmy Jackson
Organ, Electronics - Peter Leopold
Producer - Amon Düül II
Producer - Olaf Kübler
Sitar [Guest], Vocals [Guest] - Al Gromer Khan
Written-By - Chris Karrer
Written-By - John Weinzierl


© MCMLXXI and manufactured by United Artists Records, Inc., Los Angeles, Calif, 90028. Printed in U.S.A.
Title is printed on spine as "Dance Of The Lemmings" and inside gatefold "Tanz Der Lemminge" as per original artwork.
Record 1 is sides A and D, record 2 sides B and C.

Strawberry Bricks Entry: 
Amon Düül II’s second release, the double-album Yeti, appeared in November 1970. The improvisations there were more structured, but encompassed most of the album. Released as a single, the appreciably hard-rocking “Archangels Thunderbird” b/w “(Excerpts from) Soap Shop Rock” was a stormer, pointing to the future. The cover features an iconic collage of a grim reaper, in fact a tribute to Wolfgang Krischke, their soundman that died of hypothermia during an LSD trip. Another single was released, “Rattlesnakeplumcake” b/w “Between the Eyes,” again featuring the heavier aspects of the band’s music. Their next release, the double-album Dance Of The Lemmings (aka Tanz der Lemminge), saw international release on the United Artists label in June 1971. Lothar Meid had arrived on bass, replacing Dave Anderson after he left for the UK and Hawkwind. Three of the sides are album-side-long tracks: “Syntelman’s March of the Roaring Seventies” is as exemplary as any here; there’s a hint of acoustic folk in Chris Karrer’s writing, but propelled by Meid’s pummeling bass and Peter Leopold’s brisk percussion, the track takes on a new dimension. Aided by Mellotron, “Restless Skylight-Transistor-Child” descends into darker space, while “The Marilyn Monroe-Memorial-Church” treads the kosmische. The remainder of the fourth side, “Chamsin Soundtrack,” features several shorter tracks, all (more or less) guitar-based, with “Toxicological Whispering” featuring the lead guitar of John Weinzierl. There’s little precedent for Amon Düül II’s music, progressive or otherwise. Both albums present true classics, with their eight sides of vinyl remaining a cornerstone of what would eventually be known as krautrock.
Your rating: None Average: 4.6 (10 votes)