Inget Nytt Under Solen

Artist: Kaipa
Label: Decca
Format: Vinyl
Country: Sweden
Released: 1976
A1 Skenet Bedrar 21:41
B1 Ömsom Sken 3:17
B2 Korståg 5:19
B3 Stengrodornas Parad 0:56
B4 Dagens Port 2:34
B5 Inget Nytt Under Solen 6:10

Ingemar Bergman Drums, temple blocks, rattle and vocals
Tomas Eriksson Bass guitar, synth-bass, voice of the Almigthy
Hans Lundin Grand piano, Fender Rhodes Piano, Hammond organ, mellotron, Yamaha and Korg synthesizers, string ensemble, clavinet, vibes, marimba, prepared piano and lead vocal
Roine Stolt Electric guitar, 6 and 12 string acoustic guitar and rattle


Recorded and mixed at Marcus Music Studios, Stockholm, June – August 1976
Engineered by Leif Mases
Assistant engineering by Fredrik Brofalk
Produced by Kaipa & Leif Mases

Strawberry Bricks Entry: 
One of Sweden's early symphonic rock bands, Ura Kaipa (after a Stone Age chieftain) was founded by keyboardist Hans Lundin, bassist Tomas Eriksson and drummer Thomas Sjöberg. In late 1974, with Ingemar Bergman replacing Sjöberg and Roine Stolt arriving on guitar, the band shortened their name to Kaipa and began performing live. In mid-75, the band recorded their first album at Marcus Music Studios in Stockholm. Released in December 1975 on Decca Records, their self-titled debut sold well, considering distribution was limited to Scandinavia. The music was progressive rock of the most symphonic nature, and Swedish-language lyrics. Inget nytt under solen ("Nothing New Under The Sun") saw release the following year. Its highlight is the epic length "Skenet Bedrar" ("It's Not What It Seems") that spans the record's first side. Again, the track reveals the influence that classical music had on the band, as well as the British progressives, such as Genesis and Yes. That said, the album is unique work, full of drama and expert musicianship, but again firmly in the realm of symphonic rock. A few tracks were recorded in English; however, they would remain in the vaults for future CD bonus tracks. The album made an appearance on the Swedish charts and the band spent 1977 touring, performing over 100 shows. Before Kaipa's next album, 1978's Solo, their last for Decca, the band suffered some personnel changes. Eriksson left, replaced by Mats Lindberg, while Mats Löfgren joined on lead vocals. With Stolt's departure in 1979 for his own group Fantasia, the band again went through "reconstruction." Two further albums appeared, but the progressive plot was mostly lost; and the band broke up in 1982.
Your rating: None Average: 4.3 (3 votes)