Portable Madness

Artist: Sensations' Fix
Label: Polydor
Catalog#: 2448 034
Format: Vinyl
Country: United States
Released: 1974-09
A1 Smooth And Round  
A2 Fullgast  
A3 Phase One And Phase Two  
A4 Underwater  
B1 The Next Place Of Nobody  
B2 Pasty Day Resistance  
B3 Leave My Chemistry Alone  
B4 Strange About The Hands  
B5 With Relative Jump Into Water  

Arranged By [Arrangements By] – Sensations' Fix
Bass, Effects [Devices] – Richard Ursillo
Composed By [All Compositions By] – F. Falsini*
Cover – Mario Convertino
Drums, Vibraphone – Keith Edwards
Guitar [Guitars], Keyboards, Synthesizer [Synthesizers], Engineer – Franco Falsini
Photography By [Photo By] – Carla Pallini
Producer – Filippo Milani


Edizioni Karma It. S.R.L.

Strawberry Bricks Entry: 
Hailing from Florence, Sensations' Fix was really a front for Franco Falsini; in addition to playing guitar and keyboards, he also wrote and produced most of the band's music in-wait for it-Virginia. Joining him were two Americans: bassist Richard Ursillo, previously with Campo di Marte, and drummer Keith Edwards. Their debut album, Fragments Of Light, was released in 1974 on Polydor, and is certainly the most un-Italian of all the progressive rock to come out of Italy. While comparisons to Germany's krautrock may be in order-the album does rely heavily on electronics-the connection is tenuous at best. Portable Madness also appeared in 1974, revealing a darker edge, and is somewhat akin to Heldon's contemporaneous offerings. The sinister demeanor of "Smooth and Round" opens the album, before segueing directly into the angular guitar riff of "Fullglast." Halfway through, after a somewhat awkward transition, Falsini's keyboards take over and the track goes symphonic. The band gets heavy on "Phase One And Phase Two;" and the guitar/keyboard unison continues through to the closing "Underwater," which features one rubbery bass from Ursillo. After a synthesizer introduction, that same frenetic rhythm continues on "Pasty Day Resistance" while "Leave My Chemistry Alone" again reveals an ominous outlook. There's a uniformity to the music, with the vigorous rhythm always driving the melodic compositions forward. Unfortunately, the album suffers from lo-fi production—or maybe it's just a poor pressing? The soundtrack Nasso Freddo ("Cold Nose"), a solo album from Falsini, was released by Polydor in 1975. It's an album of (mostly) electronic keyboard works; and although it's like other similar albums of the era, Falsini's murky edge sets it apart. In 1976, the band added keyboardist Stephen Head and introduced vocals to their music, releasing the Finest Finger album. It's not that much of a departure, yet enjoys better production than previous efforts. A couple more albums appeared, including one for the US All Ears label in 1977; but disappointingly, all steered towards more conventional rock. After moving to the US in the late 70s, the band would change their name to Sheriff, releasing an album of pedestrian rock in 1979.
Your rating: None Average: 3 (2 votes)