Artist: Renaissance
Label: Elektra
Catalog#: EKS 74068
Format: Vinyl
Country: United States
Released: 1969-12
A1 Kings & Queens 10:55
A2 Innocence 7:05
B1 Island 5:57
B2 Wanderer 4:00
B3 Bullet 11:24

Art Direction - William S. Harvey
Artwork By [Front Cover Illustration] - Peter Schaumann
Bass - Louis Cennamo
Design - Robert L. Heimall
Engineer - Andy Johns
Guitar, Vocals, Harmonica - Keith Relf
Music By - Jim McCarty
Music By - John Hawken
Music By - Keith Relf
Music By [Classical Interpretations, Riffs, Ideas] - John Hawken
Music By [Classical Interpretations, Riffs, Ideas] - Louis Cennamo
Percussion, Vocals - Jane Relf
Percussion, Vocals - Jim McCarty
Piano, Harpsichord - John Hawken
Producer - Paul Samwell-Smith


All songs copyright (C) Paradox Music BMI
Recorded at Olympic Sound Studios, London

Strawberry Bricks Entry: 
Following the demise of The Yardbirds, guitarist Keith Relf and drummer Jim McCarty opted for a completely different direction than the American blues of their former band: music that combined classical, jazz and folk influences - how progressive! With Relf's sister Jane on vocals, bassist Louis Cennamo and pianist John Hawken were the keys to this new direction of "classical interpretation." The lengthy "Kings & Queens" opens the album; Relf's guitar takes a back seat to Hawken's piano, which paces through hook and quotation with surprising imagination. The band's execution throughout is impeccable: Cennamo and McCarty are a tight rhythm section, giving the arrangements a lift. Revealing a strong folk influence, Jane Relf takes her first crack at lead vocals on "Island." "Bullet," clocking in at over 11 minutes, gets gritty and ends with Cennamo's solo bass fading into an eerie chorus. All in all, it is an auspicious debut that managed to reach No. 60 in the UK. Renaissance recorded a second album, Illusion, the following year; however, it would not see release until 1971. Folksier, it contains the most vital track the band would record, the excellent "Past Orbits of Dust," featuring Don Shinn on electric piano. But the band had already begun to splinter: Hawken guided a transitional lineup in 1970 with some members of the Nashville Teens, but by the time the next Renaissance album was released in 1972, none of the original members would be present. However, adopting the name Illusion, Hawken, McCarty, Cennamo and Jane Relf would regroup in 1977 for two nondescript albums on Island Records.
Your rating: None Average: 4.5 (4 votes)