Rockpommel's Land

Artist: Grobschnitt
Label: Brain
Catalog#: 60.041
Format: Vinyl
Country: Germany
Released: 1977
A1 Ernie's Reise 10:56
A2 Severity Town 10:05
B1 Anywhere 4:13
B2 Rockpommel's Land 20:55

Artwork By [Executive Realization Of The Cover-paintings] - Heinz Dofflein
Bass Guitar, Other [Ardent Advocate Of The Vegetable And Other Kingdoms] - Popo
Drums, Percussion, Effects [Electronic], Lyrics By, Other [Odd Divicy Brainwaves], Recorded By, Remix - Eroc
Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Lead Vocals, Other [Beer Annihilation] - Wildschwein
Keyboards, Artwork By [Basic Cover-paintings], Concept By [Theme & Concept Of The Story] - Mist (10)
Lead Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Backing Vocals [Duck-bum-like] - Lupo
Producer, Recorded By, Remix - Conny Plank
Producer, Written-By - Grobschnitt


The whole thing was done by composing and rehearsing for about 10 months and then recorded from Nov 1976 to Feb 1977 at Conny's Studio with the deserving help of a fully dBx'ed MCI 24-track tape recorder at 30 ips (76cm/S) on four AGFA "PEM 468 professional"-type 2" tapes. Therefore however, it deserves to be played LOUD...
Story & lyrics included
p. 1977
Im Vertrieb der Metronome
Made in W.-Germany

Strawberry Bricks Entry: 
Grobschnitt reconvened to complete their fourth record in the winter of 1976, having spent most of the year writing and rehearsing their new musical concept; in particular, Eroc had spent the previous months perfecting the lyrics. Here, the band furthers their symphonic proportions for the progressive fantasy of Rockpommel's Land. Sung in English, but with German liner notes included inside (go figure), the fairy tale revolves around a boy daydreaming about his paper airplane. Ernie and a large bird, Maraboo, travel to Severity Town, where Black Shirts punish Mr. Glee for being nice to children…you get the idea. Inside the Roger Dean-like cover, however, is an equally illustrative record. "Ernie's Reise" sets the stage. The band sounds light and effortless, alternating between moments of gentle beauty and symphonic grandeur. "Severity Town" offers more of their romance with sound; and, oddly enough, what might be the first "scratching" on record. The short "Anywhere" opens the second side, the rest of which is dominated by the title track; "Rockpommel's Land" is again indicative of the band's tight execution and luscious melodies. The album also sports slick production, courtesy of Conny Plank and Eroc, and remains the band's classic statement. Grobschnitt's next record was the 1978 album Solar Music Live, which succeeded in replicating the band's live set on record. The band then promoted lighting man Toni "Moff" Mollo to vocalist for the 1979 album, Merry-Go-Round. Gone was their large, symphonic aspirations and in was something shorter, but of high quality. Another like-minded album followed; 1980's Illegal saw bassist Popo depart, replaced by Milla Kapolke. But with continuing changes in personnel and musical direction (including a switch to "Rock in deutsch"), Grobschnitt's best days were behind them.
Your rating: None Average: 4.4 (5 votes)