For Girls Who Grow Plump In The Night

Artist: Caravan
Label: London Records
Catalog#: XPS 637
Format: Vinyl
Country: United States
Released: 1973-10
A1 Memory Lain, Hugh 4:52

Arranged By [Woodwinds, Brass], Conductor, Soloist, Flute - Jimmy Hastings
Clarinet, Baritone Saxophone - Harry Klein
Clarinet, Tenor Saxophone - Tommy Whittle
Clarinet, Tenor Saxophone - Tony Coe
Flute, Alto Saxophone - Peter King
Flute, Piccolo Flute - Barry Robinson
Synthesizer [A.r.p.] - Rupert Hine
Trombone - Chris Pyne
Trumpet - Henry Lowther

A2 Headloss 4:22

Congas - Frank Ricotti
Synthesizer [A.r.p.] - David Sinclair
Synthesizer [A.r.p.] - Rupert Hine

A3 Hoedown 3:18

Congas - Frank Ricotti

A4 Surprise, Surprise 4:05
A5 C'Thlu 6:12

Congas - Frank Ricotti
Vocals [Larynx] - Jill Pryor

B1 The Dog, The Dog, He's At It Again 5:56
B2 Be All Right 2:28

Cello [Electric] - Paul Buckmaster
Congas - Frank Ricotti
Synthesizer [A.r.p.] - Rupert Hine

B3 Chance Of A Lifetime 4:07

Congas - Frank Ricotti

B4.1 L'Auberge Du Sanglier 10:05
B4.2 A Hunting We Shall Go  
B4.3 Pengola  

Written-By - John G. Perry

B4.4 Backwards  

Arranged By [Orchestra] - John Bell
Arranged By [Orchestra], Conductor - Martyn Ford
Written-By - Mike Ratledge

B4.5 A Hunting We Shall Go (Reprise)  

Arranged By [Orchestra] - John Bell
Arranged By [Orchestra], Conductor - Martyn Ford


Arranged By - Caravan
Bass, Vocals, Percussion - John G. Perry
Design [Cover Design], Photography - Mark Lawrence
Drums, Percussion, Timpani - Richard Coughlan
Engineer - Dave Grinsted
Engineer - Derek Varnals
Engineer - John Burns
Engineer - John Punter
Engineer - Kevin Fuller
Engineer [Assistant] - Alan Leeming
Engineer [Assistant] - David Baker
Engineer [Assistant] - Lindsay Kidd
Engineer [Assistant] - Sean Milligan
Guitar, Vocals - Pye Hastings
Organ, Piano, Electric Piano, Synthesizer [Davoli] - David Sinclair
Producer - David Hitchcock
Viola - Geoffrey Richardson
Written-By - Pye Hastings


Gatefold Cover
(P)(C) 1973 The Decca Record Company Limited, London
Exclusive U.S. Agents London Records Inc.
Made in U.S.A.

Strawberry Bricks Entry: 
Violist Geoffrey Richardson jumped aboard Caravan in late 1972, while bassist John G. Perry joined after the Australian tour. They were two significant additions to the band, as both musicians would impart a significant influence on Pye Hastings and Richard Coughlan. The band hired Dave Sinclair for a tour in the spring; but by the time they entered the studio to record their fifth record, For Girls Who Grow Plump In The Night, Sinclair had returned as fulltime keyboardist. Pushed by a hard-driving guitar riff and punctuated by Sinclair's classic organ solo, the album's opener, "Memory Lain, Hugh," is a great return to form. Jimmy Hastings's flute and the stately horn arrangements help segue into the second section, "Headloss," and the band never skips a beat. Richardson's viola is well suited for the music, and his "Hoedown" reflects his new addition; however "C'Thlu" is a big departure, sounding more like Cream than Caravan! The second side contains several more compositions from Hastings that present a new, harder edge. The highlight is the stretch that begins with "L'Auberge du Sanglier" ("Wild Boar Inn") and runs through "A Hunting We Shall Go (Reprise)." Propelled by Perry's strong bass lines, the closing sections features Martyn Ford's powerful orchestration, augmented further by a rare synthesizer solo from Sinclair. Just after the album's release, the orchestra joined Caravan on stage at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane, which resulted in the excellent Caravan And The New Symphonia record. It would be the only release for the band in 1974; and once again, neither album would chart, despite both being two of the strongest in Caravan's catalog.
Your rating: None Average: 4.6 (10 votes)