See See The Sun

Artist: Kayak
Label: Capitol Records
Catalog#: ST-11305
Format: LP
Country: United States
Released: 1973
A1 Reason For It All 6:25
A2 Lyrics 3:40
A3 Mouldy Wood 5:12
A4 Lovely Luna 8:15
B1 Hope For A Life 6:44
B2 Ballet Of The Cripple 4:37
B3 Forever Is A Lonely Thought 5:25
B4 Mammoth 3:15
B5 See See The Sun 4:10

Bass – Cees Van Leeuwen
Design [Album] – Herman Willem Baas*
Drums, Vocals – Pim Koopman
Executive Producer – Frank Jansen
Guitar – Johan Slager
Mastered By – C. Blair*
Photography By [Slide Front Cover] – Carl Koppeschaar
Piano, Organ, Keyboards, Percussion, Vocals – Ton Scherpenzeel
Producer, Arranged By – Gerrit-Jan Leenders
Recorded By – Pierre Geoffrey Chateau*
Remix – Alan Parsons (tracks: A1, A3 to B3, B5), Dave Grinsted (tracks: A2), Pierre Geoffrey Chateau* (tracks: A1, A3 to B3 to B5)
Vocals, Mellotron – Max Werleofzoiets*

Strawberry Bricks Entry: 
Hailing from the Dutch city of Hilversum, Kayak was another of the Netherlands's favorite sons, led by keyboardist Ton Scherpenzeel and drummer Pim Koopman. Classical music students, the pair first teamed up in 1967, picking up vocalist Max Werner and guitarist Johan Slager along the way. After signing with EMI Harvest, Kayak released their debut album See See The Sun in 1973. "Reason for It All" kicks off, revealing a classically-inspired progressive with a sprite, driving tempo and rich harmonies; yet it's the instrumental section that reveals the band's power. "Lyrics" is off-center enough to save it, while the following "Mouldy Wood" offers a little dissonance at its core. "Lovely Luna" drifts ever so gently, graced by Werner's unique voice and Cees van Leeuwen's powerful bass, culminating in a big orchestral finale. "Hope for a Life" is a potent rocker, again showcasing the group's harmonies. Both great writers, Koopman and Scherpenzeel were at their peak when their romantic tendencies combined with a harder rocking edge, such as on "Forever Is a Lonely Thought." Propelled by a few singles, including the barrel organ-led "Mammoth" b/w "Ballet of the Cripple," the album was successful in the band's native Netherlands. Kayak's second album, Kayak, would see its material turned lighter as formula set in, save for the interesting "Trust in the Machine." Their third album, Royal Bed Bouncer, saw a switch of labels to Phonogram in Europe and Janus Records in the US. With Bert Veldkamp now on bass, the album scored another Dutch Top 40 single with "Chance for a Lifetime" b/w "My Heart Never Changed." The US release of their 1978 album Starlight Dancer contained only a pair of tracks from the European version, opting instead for several songs from their previous release, The Last Encore, and a tacked-on, near-hit single, "I Want You to Be Mine" b/w "Irene," which hit No. 55 on the US Billboard chart. Personnel changes then hit the band, with the arrival Edward Reekers on vocals. Kayak would continue until 1982, releasing several more albums; but their progressive days were far behind them. Werner had success as a solo artist in the early 80s.
Your rating: None Average: 4 (2 votes)